Grotto – Another painting by Daniel Pitin

I bought another painting (my 11th) by the Czech painter, Daniel Pitin, following his recent one-man show at the Hunt Kastner Gallery in Prague.  I haven’t enough wall space at home, so yesterday it was installed at the office (LLP Group).

‘Grotto’ (2015)

grotto

It’s a good companion piece to Crystal Landscape, which I bought in September.

‘Crystal Landscape’

cyrstal landscape

You can see more of Daniel’s paintings here.

Daniel Pitin is one of my favourite painters and I’ve been buying his paintings for nearly 16 years. It’s a tempting and short journey of just three metro stops to his studio from my office in Prague. It’s a much longer journey to the Paintbrush Factory in Cluj Napoca in Romania where some of my other favourite painters work or have worked.

Serban Savu

Marius Bercea

Mircea Suciu

Adrian Ghenie

I’ve bought paintings by the first three of these, but Adrian Ghenie’s now sell for stratospheric prices, so it’s too late for me. He’s probably the most successful and well-known young artist from the whole of Central and Eastern Europe. His version of Van Gogh’s Sunflowers sold recently at Sotheby’s in London for more than three million pounds.

‘Sunflowers – 1937’

sunflowers

In case you’re stuck for an idea, a painting by Adrian Ghenie would make a very welcome 60th birthday present next year. Start saving.

Leave a Reply

